Social Media and E-Mail

I have found myself in this position on nearly a daily basis. Emoticons are creeping into my e-mail, as well as the occasional LOL. I’ve see it happen to others that spend time on social media nowadays. The situation is made even worse by the expectation that we use Jabber at work.

Do you think it’s wrong to use microstyle when composing e-mail? Are your rules different, depending on who the recipient is? I consciously remove any SM-isms that I may have included, if the recipient is someone I know is unwired but I do find it rather painful to have to do.

Leave a Reply

