Stuff in the news 6/17/2013 – Wildfires

Fire Danger Level Meme

  • NM Fire Info has been posting the link to the NIFC daily situation report on Facebook, since we got hot and heavy into fire season. It occurred to me that if someone asked me, I don’t know that I’d be very good at explaining it to someone. You know me – when in doubt, look it up. Here is a link to a PDF document on NIFC that explains what’s in there:  Understanding the Information Provided in the National Incident Management Situation Report (IMSR)
  • Speaking of things I use but am sometimes at a loss to explain, I am in search of a good explanation of how to read a fire map. If you can help me find one, please post the link in a comment. I promise to give you credit when I include it in the next stuff in the news post 🙂
  • Using the term “scurried” for residents trying to put out this fire may have been a poor choice of words. Flagstaff juveniles burning ants start wildfire
  • Here’s one of those articles that is policy-related and something we all ask from time to time, I think. The topic just came up in casual conversation this past weekend in the context of building in flood-plains. I don’t have an answer but I think these sorts of pieces are important to read and discuss. It’s always important, when doing so, to dig all the way back to the original sources, though, especially given the title of the piece. Why does the government encourage people to build homes in wildfire zones?
  • Ummm, ewwwww….  Firefighters doused with retardant during wildfires at the Black Forest Fire in Colorado.
  • Those of us who live in the West have already pretty much figured this out but… Explosive and expensive wildfires in Colorado becoming `new normal’
  • From our friends at incidentinfo.org: Luke Sheehy was a California Smokejumper. On June 10, 2013 he made his last jump into a fire on the Modoc National Forest. He was killed when a piece of a tree fell on him. He was 28 years old. Here’s how you can help. Please share out this page when you click through.
Leave a Reply

